Where toxic mist sweeps the lands & magic is forbidden…

In Helen Scheuerer’s bestselling debut, we meet an unlikely heroine, who’s far more powerful than she knows.

Heart of Mist is the gripping first book in The Oremere Chronicles, a fantasy series of epic proportions.

Was $7.99  Now $4.99


The branches of the canopy were like springs beneath the balls of her feet, making her lighter than air as she leapt from one tree to another, towards her freedom. None of the sentries stirred. She knew how to use the dark cloak of night to her advantage. She was no more than a shadow, flickering with the rest in the dappled moonlight.

She wove through the branches like a ghost, leaving the sleeping keep, her family and her future behind. When she got to the outskirts of the forest, she dropped down onto the soft earth and ran. Although she had rigged the guard changes, it wouldn’t be long before they realised she was gone. She sprinted.

Her feet barely touched the damp ground as she darted between the lean trunks, her breath forming small clouds before her in the cool night, her dark hair sticking to her face. She had the build of her kind: tall, lean and corded with muscle. A body that had been pushed to the limits of endurance, moulded by a strict regime of discipline, forced to fight with blade, arrow, spear and fists.

She was meant to be a leader, a warrior, a queen of the Valian people, but she couldn’t be. Not when there was another choice.

The Author

Helen Scheuerer is a YA fantasy author from Sydney, Australia. Heart of Mist is the first book in her high fantasy trilogy, The Oremere Chronicles. Helen is also the Founding Editor of Writer’s Edit, an online literary magazine and learning platform for emerging writers. It’s now one of the largest writers’ platforms in the world.

Helen’s love of writing and books led her to pursue a Bachelor of Creative Arts, majoring in Creative Writing at the University of Wollongong and a Masters of Publishing at the University of Sydney.

Helen is now a full-time author living in New Zealand.

Upcoming Books

Publication Schedule The Oremere Chronicles

The Oremere Chronicles is a Young Adult fantasy trilogy by Australian author, Helen Scheuerer, published by Talem Press.

#1: Heart of Mist (2017)

The first instalment in Scheuerer’s trilogy hit bestseller status in under 24 hours of release.

#2: Reign of Mist (2018)

The second instalment in The Oremere Chronicles hit bestseller status before its official release date.

#3: War of Mist (2019)

The epic conclusion to The Oremere Chronicles hit bestseller status before its official release.